Election and Voting Information

The City of Eton elects a Mayor and four Council Members.

Terms for Mayor and Council are four years with elections held every two years. To be eligible for office in Eton, a person must be at least 21 years of age, and must meet the requirements of a qualified voter in the City of Eton, as prescribed by state law, and must have been a resident of the City of Eton for at least one year prior to the election for which he/she offers as a candidate, and, if elected, must continue to reside in the City of Eton throughout his/her term of office.

City Elections are non-partisan, i.e. candidates do not run as members of a particular political party, and their individual party affiliations are not relevant to their positions in Eton City Government.

Elected Officials take office the first Tuesday in January following the Election. Any person desiring to become a candidate shall file written notice with the City Clerk. Qualifying dates are set by state law and published in The Chatsworth Times. Those persons who have decided to run for an office should notify the City Clerk to obtain qualifying information.

Voter Registration Information: www.sos.georgia.gov/elections

Political Signs placed in Eton whether on rights-of-way or private property requires a cash bond.  Please click here for additional information and sign permit application.

Eton Election Schedule:

The General Election scheduled for November 5, 2019 is canceled.  Council Member Post 3, Jim Bartley, and Council Member Post 4, Joan Dooley, are unopposed.  The next General Election will be held November 2, 2021.

City of Eton

3464 U.S. Highway 411 North

P.O. Box 407

Eton, Georgia 30724

Phone: (706) 695-2652

Fax: (706) 695-6117

Email: etoncityclerk@windstream.net

Everify ID Number


Admission Date:  07/26/2011

Incorporated:  1909

2010 Census Population:  910

City Hall Hours:

Monday  -  Friday

City Clerk's Office

8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Assistant City Clerk's Office

10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Court Clerk's Office

10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Elections Office

8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.